The versatility of Clear LRS means you can package your activities in a variety of different formats or hierarchy structures. This means a user may complete an activity standalone or as part of a greater learning pathway. Within the Clear LRS system, it's important to understand that all completions are considered equal and the completion will propagate across the platform.
In the above chart, Personal Improvement is an example of a module hierarchy that contains 3 activities. The learner won't receive a completion for Personal Improvement until all 3 child activities (Setting Goals & Objectives, Communication Skills, and Time Management) have been completed.
This is an example of module roll-up using the Complete All rule, but Clear LRS offers other roll-up rules that can be configured when creating the hierarchy:
Roll Up Rule
The learner must complete all children for the module to be marked as completed.
The learner only needs to complete the required children for the module to be marked as completed.
The learner needs to complete a specified number of any children to be marked as completed.
Hierarchies can be an arbitrary number of levels deep and roll-up will automatically flow from bottom-to-top through the layers until the highest parent is marked as complete.
Module hierarchies are very rarely carved in stone – new activities may be added or old activities may be removed. Many systems will prevent changing a hierarchical structure once created or force the resetting of all completions before changes can be made. Clear LRS solves this problem by re-evaluating the entire module hierarchy under a fresh registration and leaves it up to the administrator to determine if they want to report on whether the module has ever been completed or if the hierarchy is currently complete.
Although a hierarchy is re-evaluated from scratch when changed, this simply updates the data from a back-end reporting standpoint. If a learner had previously completed the full module hierarchy and is now no longer considered complete, their enrolment may still register a completion, to understand why, read the following section on Enrolment Completions.
Conceptually an activity can only ever be in a single state – complete or incomplete – but when a learner is enrolled into something, once the terms of that enrolment have been met, it makes sense that their completion status should be retained. For example, if a student completes their Bachelor of Science in 2010, they shouldn't be required to go back and complete any extra requirements if the curriculum is changed today.
Clear LRS embodies this concept by separating a learner's Enrolment Completion from their Activity Completion and it's possible to report on either of these statuses. Read the following section on Expiring Completions if you'd like to manually override this behaviour.
Contrary to the above example of retaining an enrolment's completion once met, there are still times when you may want to force your learner to re-complete some training:
If the learner must re-complete after a set period of time (i.e. annual refresher training)
If the completion requirements were initially setup incorrectly and you now wish to invalidate all prior completions
Both of these points are handled via assigning a workflow to an enrolment to expire an activity's completion status. When a completion is expired then the completion status for the Enrolment as well as the Activity is reset.